

Appendix B

JOINT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2021-22

Joint Strategic Committee Membership is the Leader and their Executive (no requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
	Worthing Borough Co	ouncil
1	Chair: Daniel Humphreys	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins	Conservative
3	Edward Crouch	Conservative
4	Heather Mercer	Conservative
5	Elizabeth Sparkes	Conservative
6	Sean McDonald	Conservative
	Adur District Cour	ncil
1	Chair:	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Conservative	
3	Conservative	
4	Conservative	
5	Conservative	
6	Conservative	

Joint Governance Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Roy Barraclough	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Tim Wills	Conservative	
3	Louise Murphy	Conservative	
4	Steve Waight	Conservative	
5	Steve Wills	Conservative	
6	Mike Barrett	Labour	
7	Helen Silman	Labour	
8	Emma Taylor	Labour	
	Adur District Cour	ncil	
1	Chair:	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair:	Conservative	
3		Conservative	
4	Conservative		
5	Conservative		
6		Labour	
7	Labour		
8		tbc	

Note: Not more than one member to be an Executive Member

For Standards matters:

Independent persons: Simon Norris-Jones and Lindsay Viljoen (1 vacancy) Parish representatives: Lancing Parish Council (1) – Sompting Parish Council (1)

Joint Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
Worthing Borough Council		
1	Chair: Karen Harman Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Daniel Humphreys	Conservative
3	Rosey Whorlow	Labour
Adur District Council		
1	Chair: Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Conservative	
3	Labour	

Joint Senior Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
Worthing Borough Council		
1	Chair: Daniel Humphreys Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins Conservative	
3	Rebecca Cooper	Labour
Adur District Council		
1	Chair: Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Conservative	
3	Labour	

Note: Each Council must have one Executive member

Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
	Worthing Borough C	ouncil
1	Chair: Charles James	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Richard Nowak	Conservative
3	Russ Cochran	Conservative
4	Louise Murphy	Conservative
5	Tim Wills	Conservative
6	Jon Roser	Labour
7	Sally Smith	Labour
8	Carl Walker	Labour
	Adur District Cou	ncil
1	Chair:	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair:	Conservative
3		Conservative
4		Conservative
5		Conservative
6	Labour	
7	Labour	
8		tbc



Executive, appointed by the Leader		
	Councillor	Title
1	Daniel Humphreys	Leader
2	Kevin Jenkins	Deputy Leader Executive Member for Regeneration
3	Edward Crouch	Executive Member for Digital and Environment
4	Heather Mercer	Executive Member for Customer Services
5	Elizabeth Sparkes	Executive Member for Resources
6	Sean McDonald	Executive Member for Health and Wellbeing

Policy Advisors to Executive Members

These are not Council appointments; they are made by the individual Executive Member and advised to the Director of Communities.

1	Steve Wills	Leader
2	Richard Nowak	Executive Member for Regeneration
3	Dan Coxhill	Executive Member for Digital and Environment
4	Louise Murphy	Executive Member for Customer Services
5	Tim Wills	Executive Member for Resources
6	Karen Harman	Executive Member for Health and Wellbeing

Worthing Planning Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
1	Chair: Noel Atkins	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Karen Harman	Conservative	
3	Dan Coxhill	Conservative	
4	Edward Crouch	Conservative	
5	Steve Wills	Conservative	
6	Jim Deen	Labour	
7	Helen Silman	Labour	
8	8 Martin McCabe Liberal Democrat		
Substitute M	ember Nomination	Political Group	
	Councillors with relevant training as listed on the website	Conservative	
	John Turley & Catherine Glynn-Davies	Labour	
	Hazel Thorpe	Lib Dem	

It is a requirement that Members and substitute members of this Committee, must receive appropriate training.

Overview and Scrutiny Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Charles James	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Richard Nowak	Conservative
3	Noel Atkins	Conservative
4	Roy Barraclough	Conservative
5	Russ Cochran	Conservative
6	Dan Coxhill	Conservative
7	Karen Harman	Conservative
8	Tim Wills	Conservative
9	Henna Chowdhury	Labour
10	Jim Deen	Labour
11	Catherine Glynn-Davies	Labour
12	Margaret Howard	Labour
13	Dawn Smith	Labour
14	Emma Taylor	Labour
15	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem

Licensing and Control Committees 'A' and 'B' (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Steve Wills	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Charles James	Conservative
3	Russ Cochran	Conservative
4	Daniel Coxhill	Conservative
5	Kevin Jenkins	Conservative
6	Sean McDonald	Conservative
7	Richard Nowak	Conservative
8	Nicola Waight	Conservative
9	Mike Barrett	Labour
10	Henna Chowdhury	Labour
11	Catherine Glynn-Davies	Labour
12	Richard Mulholland	Labour
13	John Turley	Labour
14	Rosey Whorlow	Labour
15	Hazel Thorpe	Lib Dem
Substit	ute Member Nomination	Political Group
	Bob Smytherman Lib Dem	

Note:

Although two separate Committees operating under different rules, it is suggested that Membership/Chairperson/Vice-Chairperson are the same for both.

It is a requirement that Members of this Committee must receive appropriate training.

Substitutes are not permitted for 'B' Committee.

Requirement for Political balance is dependent on which Committee is meeting. Officers will ensure this is correct in each case.

Notified Group Leaders (Regulation 8(3))

Conservative Group - Cllr Daniel Humphreys (Leader) Cllr Kevin Jenkins (Deputy)			
Labour Group	- Cllr Beccy Cooper (Leader)	Cllr Carl Walker (Deputy)	
Lib Dem Group	- Cllr Martin McCabe (Leader)	Cllr Hazel Thorpe (Deputy)	